You are here

2010 CEDA Awards -- call for nominations

This is a busy time for all, but I would ask you to a moment and consider those folks in our community worthy of special recognition. I am reposting the awards call for CEDA from earlier this year and asking you to consider nominating worthy candidates.

In an effort to make the nomination process easier for all we have clarified the descriptions and the types of information needed for each nomination. We are also accepting all nominations online at the CEDA website There is a link at the top right of the front page to submit awards. An archive of previous winners is available at

Please note the due date for award nominations is February 23rd. If you have any questions or problems with the online nominations please let me know. Descriptions of the awards from the CEDA Constitution are pasted below


CEDA takes great pride is recognizing the outstanding contributions of its students, coaches, and alums. We invite you to submit nominations, including self-nominations, for any of the following awards. Nominations will be accepted until February 23rd, 2010.

Student Awards. The organization should solicit nominations of outstanding students for each of the following awards. Awards nominations should proceed in a uniform fashion, so that students nominated for the most exclusive award are also applying, if eligible, for all other student awards. Students may win multiple awards.

A. Brian “Baby Jo” Johnston Debater of the Year Award. The annual award named in honor of 1994 CEDA National Champion Brian Johnston is designed to recognize an outstanding debater in CEDA. The ideal candidate demonstrates competitive success and a commitment to represent the highest values of the debate community.

B. Outstanding New Competitor Award. The recipient will be selected among a pool of applicants who began their participation in interscholastic debate in college, are in their first year of competition and are participating at the CEDA championship tournament. Their application should show evidence of growth and participation in the activity. The student’s participation during the year may have been at any level of competition (e.g. varsity, junior varsity or novice). No preference will be given for either regional or national travel schedules.

C. All-American Debate Squad Award. The organization should honor a maximum of thirty CEDA debaters as those students who represent the best of intercollegiate debate. They should demonstrate competitive success, academic success, good conduct, and contributions to their squad. No more than two students from a given school shall receive this award. At least two recipients must be from community college programs.

D. National Debate Scholar. The organization should honor students who maintain strong academic records in addition to their competitive accomplishments. There will be no minimum or maximum number of students eligible for any of these awards. To be eligible for any level of national scholar recognition, a student must have attained at least junior standing, competed in at least 18 rounds on the current topic, and meet the minimum grade point average for that specific award.
a. National Debate Scholar – summa cum laude. Minimum 3.75 GPA.
b. National Debate Scholar - magna cum laude. Minimum 3.5 GPA.
c. National Debate Scholar - cum laude. Minimum 3.25 GPA.
d. National Debate Scholar – Honorable Mention. Minimum 3.0 GPA

Coaching Awards. The organization should solicit nominations of outstanding coaches for each of the following awards.

A. The Brownlee Award. The Brownlee Award is given annually to a forensic educator who demonstrates outstanding achievement in scholarship, education and service to CEDA. The award is named in honor of longtime coach and founding CEDA member Don Brownlee. The ideal candidate demonstrates some element of all three factors (scholarship, education and service to CEDA).

B. The Galentine Award. The annual award named in honor of Rebecca Galentine is designed to recognize an outstanding female debate coach in CEDA. The ideal candidate can demonstrate service to programs and the organization, community building and competitive success.

C. The Matt Grindy Outstanding Graduate Student Coach Award. This award is intended to recognize both the pedagogical and competitive contributions to the growth and development of policy debate by graduate student coaches, who are balancing their obligations to their school work and that of their programs. The recipient needs to demonstrate excellence in graduate and professional obligations as well as their work as coaches.

Program Awards
A. The National Public Debate Award.
1. This award is given to the intercollegiate debate program which, over the course of the past academic year, has best advanced the values of debate in the public sphere through sponsorship of one or more public debate activities including international public debates, multimedia debates, public debates on campus or for community groups, and through general promotion of public discourse to promote critical examination of public issues for diverse and general audiences.
2. Nominees should submit a portfolio including a narrative description of their public debate activities. Programs are also asked to submit supporting materials of their choosing which might include participant lists, publicity and promotional materials, attendance figures, transcripts or recordings, commendations and letters of appreciation, and any other materials that they feel are appropriate.
3. The awards committee may elect to provide up to three awards each year and may also recognize as many Honorable Mention entrants as they deem appropriate. Each recipient and Honorable Mention will receive recognition through letters sent to the appropriate officers of their academic institutions.

Community Awards

A. CEDA Alumni Award. This award recognizes outstanding achievement, contribution and service by a program alumna of a member school. The best candidates are those who are not active coaches, but those alumni who embody the best values of debate through their own debate, philanthropy, and leadership. These candidates, trained in debate, should now provide valuable service to our larger communities.

B. Public Advocate of the Year. The award acknowledges the contribution of an individual during the past year that made a positive contribution to public discourse on matters of social import. The award recipient need not have a direct relationship to intercollegiate debate, but must be someone who has made a significant difference in local, regional, national or international affairs.