You are here

CEDA Ballot

Hello everyone:

The spring 2009 ballot is now available online.  There are 9 amendments and 4 controversy areas to vote on.  All ballots are due by midnight, Wednesday May 13.

The four controversy areas have been released by the topic committee.  You can read all of the controversy papers online in the CEDA forums or on the topic site.

Final slate of 2009 - 2010 controversy areas

1. Should the United States increase cooperation with Russia?
2. Should the IMF and World Bank be reformed?
3. Should the United States decrease reliance on nuclear weapons?"
4. Should the United States legalize and protect 'taboo' social practices?"


2009-10 Controversy Papers Available for Community Review

The controversy papers for the 2009-10 topic have been released at the ceda topic site. Please review them and leave comments in the forums section. We are very appreciative for all of the hard work by the authors of these papers.


Summer Meetings Schedule, Agenda and Amendment Text

The CEDA business meetings, topic selection meetings and the debate developmental conference are about to begin in Winston-Salem NC and hosted by Wake Forest.

All of the sessions will be held at the Sundance hotel (the same property that Wake uses for the Shirley tournament).



Tuesday, June 2



Awards announced at the closing ceremony

In addition to the awards that were presented at the opening ceremony, the following awards were presented at the closing CEDA Nationals ceremony.

New Competitor of the Year - Peter Fountain, Binghamton University.

The Brian “Baby Jo” Johnston Debater of the Year Award – Dayvon Love, Towson University.

The Brownlee Coaching Award – Skip Eno, University of Texas at San Antonio.

Congratulations to all of the winners on their tremendous accomplishments!

Congratulations to the 2009 CEDA Champion - The University of Oklahoma

Congratulations to the 2009 CEDA National Champion - the University of Oklahoma team of R.J. Giglio & Nick Watts. They defeated the Towson University team of Deven Cooper & Dayvon Love on a 7-4 decision in the final round.

In one semi-final, Towson defeated the University of Texas at Dallas team of Andrew Baker & Brian Rubaie. In the second semi-final, Oklahoma defeated the University of West Georgia team of Vince Binder & Jim Schultz.

Awards given out at first ceremony

Several awards were given out during the first awards ceremony at the 2009 CEDA National Championship Tournament.

The National Public Debate Award

First Place – The University of Miami. Directed by Dr. David Steinberg.

Second Place - Appalachian State University. Directored by Mariam Willis and Kristopher Willis.

Third Place – James Madison University. Directed by Dr. Mike Davis.

The Speaker of the Year - Nate Silver of

2009 CEDA Scholastic All Americans Announced

2008-2009 CEDA Scholastic All-American Debate Teams.

The Cross Examination Debate Association (CEDA) is proud to announce the 2008-2009 Scholastic All-American Debate Teams. Debaters at any CEDA member programs are eligible for each respective level of award based on their academic and competitive performance. Congratulations to each student for their impresssive accomplishments.

First team Scholastic All-Americans

CEDA Nationals Update

Hello everyone:  There are a few issues for everyone to consider in the days before the national tournament.

New Awards Page Online

 CEDA has just launched its newest site:


Subscribe to Cross Examination Debate Association RSS