[eDebate] Debaters who became policy makers

William Newnam wnewnam
Wed Apr 18 12:08:57 CDT 2007

There is a very comprehensive list in a report by Jeff Parcher, formerly 
coach at George Mason and Georgetown, and debater from Western Washington. 
It is available on the web at;


There are some others that did not make his list including former (fifth or 
sixth) NDT speaker, Senator Arlen Spector, former Emory Debater and US 
Congressman Elliot Levitas, former Alabama debater and US Senator from 
Alabama, Richard Shelby, (among many other Alabama political leaders coached 
by Anabel Hagood at the University of Alabama.), former Georgia Governor Roy 
Barnes.  Elliot Minceberg from People for the American Way won the NDT while 
at Northwestern.

to name a few,

bill n

----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Doyle Srader" <doyle at sfasu.edu>
To: <edebate at ndtceda.com>
Sent: Wednesday, April 18, 2007 11:54 AM
Subject: [eDebate] Debaters who became policy makers

> Paul Shomshor, NDT debater for Baylor 1986-1989, now a member of the
> Iowa General Assembly.
> http://www3.legis.state.ia.us/ga/member.do?id=319&ga=81
> -- 
> Doyle Srader, Ph.D.
> Lecturer, Communication Studies
> Stephen F. Austin State University
> http://www.faculty.sfasu.edu/f_sraderdw/
> Ezekiel 36:26-27
> _______________________________________________
> eDebate mailing list
> eDebate at www.ndtceda.com
> http://www.ndtceda.com/mailman/listinfo/edebate

More information about the Mailman mailing list