[eDebate] CSIS Debate Internship 2007-2008

Josh Branson harobran
Wed Feb 21 11:04:40 CST 2007

Note: if anyone has questions about this, feel free to contact Alex or me. 


The William J. Taylor, Jr. Internship

The 11th Annual William J. Taylor internship recognizes the outstanding 
training intercollegiate debate gives students by reserving one paid 
internship annually at CSIS, exclusively for a college debater.

Eligibility: Applications are due March 1, 2007. Candidates for the award 
must currently be undergraduate (including seniors graduating this year) 
policy debaters.  Major field(s) of study should be related to international 
affairs.  Applicants are expected to have strong writing skills, an 
exemplary debate record, an interest in international affairs, strong 
communications skills, as well as demonstrated leadership potential and 

Application:  Simply submit a cover letter and resume (which would include 
some indication of your debate record, specifically whether you expect to 
receive a first-round or not) by March 1 to:

Alex Lennon
Editor-in-Chief, The Washington Quarterly
1800 K St., NW
Washington DC  20006
E-mail applications are preferred at alennon at csis.org

Recommendations from coaches and short (no more than 3 page) writing samples 
are welcome but not required.

About Dr. Taylor: Dr. William J. Taylor was the senior vice president for 
international security affairs at CSIS until 1999.  Dr. Taylor was a 
professor and director of national security studies as well as the director 
of debate at West Point.  He was responsible for bringing many debaters to 
CSIS--including Mike Mazarr, the 1986 NDT finalist from Georgetown and 
former editor of The Washington Quarterly; and Alex Lennon, 1990 NDT 
champion from Harvard and current editor-in-chief of TWQ.

Previous recipients of the award include:

2006 Josh Branson, Northwestern University
2005 Victoria Suarez Palomo, Emory University
2004 Nirav Patel, North Texas State University
2003 Shawn Powers, University of Georgia
2002 Austin Carson, Michigan State University
2001 Andrew Peterson, University of Iowa
2000 Mike Horowitz, Emory University
1999 Chris McIntosh, University of Georgia
1998 Corey Stoughton, University of Michigan
1997 Kelly Dunbar, Baylor University

Play Flexicon: the crossword game that feeds your brain. PLAY now for FREE.? 

More information about the Mailman mailing list