[eDebate] TOC Qualifier: Grapevine

Patterson, J W jwpatt00
Wed Sep 12 10:39:52 CDT 2007



MAY 3, 4, AND 5, 2008


 1. Schools that do not comply with deadlines will be assessed a nuisance fee of $50 and will not have the option of participating in judge preferences or strikes! The deadline for both fully qualified entries and "at-large" applications in both divisions is March 15, 2008. The deadline for the payment of all fees is April 1, 2008. "At-large" applicants will not be notified and fully qualified teams will not be entered into the tournament until all fees are paid.

 2.  The TOC Tournament Director has NO hired judges available.  SCHOOLS MUST SUPPLY THEIR OWN JUDGES.  If the person supplied is not a full time teacher of a school, the applicant may be required to submit  the qualifications of the designated judge to the Tournament Director. The TOC Director will refer people who wish to judge to those who desire to hire judges.  All such arrangements will be  between the designated school and the person wishing to be hired.

 3.  In both policy and LD, tournaments designated as a quarter-final or octa-final qualifier must have at least six preliminary rounds; otherwise, the bid drops to the semi-finals level.

 4.  If a school has not submitted judging philosophies for all of its judges by 7 days before the TOC, that school will not be offered a preference and strike sheet for the TOC and will be assessed a nuisance fee of $50.

 6.  A team or an LD debater must win at least one elimination round to be eligible for a "ghost bid."  For example, if a tournament breaks at the double-octos level and is a TOC qualifier at the octos level, if two people or teams from the same school meet in the octos round, a ghost bid would be awarded.  If a tournament breaks at the octos level and is a TOC qualifier at  the quarters level, and two people or teams from the same school meet in the quarters, a ghost bid would be awarded. On the other hand, if a tournament breaks to the octafinals and  people from the same school meet in the octos, a ghost bid would not be awarded.  In this case, since there was no double octos, the people meeting would not have won an out round and would not eligible for a ghost bid.

 7.  In policy debate, a team must have two qualifiers as a team to qualify for the TOC.  If a team does not have two quals AS A TEAM, then they may submit for an at-large bid. Debaters from the same school who have two or more bids but have not debated together may also submit for an "at-large" bid.

   8. Tournament Directors must submit complete result sheets no more than thirty days after the tournament is held.
    For tournaments held after March 1st, the results must be certified by March 10th. This includes the debaters full
    names, their schools, and state


Jane Boyd, Director of the Grapevine, Texas Invitational, has certified the first TOC qualifiers for 2008. Grapevine is a  is a TOC qualifier in both Policy and Lincoln Douglas debate at the semifinals level, as well as Student Congress debate at the finals level.


    Evan Defilippis and James Hamraie, Colleyville Heritage, TX
    Alex Nash and Andrew Murray, Colleyville Heritage, TX
    Chris Power and Katryna Cadle, Bishop Guertin, NH
    Pavan Krishnamurth and Risha Battachargee, Coppell HS, TX


    Becca Traber, The Kinkaid School, TX
    David Donatti, Strake Jesuit, TX
    Andrew Cockroft - Elkins HS, TX
    Arti Bhatia, Colleyville Heritage, TX


    Kevin Easton, Duncanville HS, TX
    Dillon Huff, Southlake Carroll HS, TX
    Spencer Sheaff, Dowling Catholic, IA
    Connor Huff, Southlake Carroll HS, TX
    Ian Panchevre, Tom C. Clark HS, TX
    Sumner Macdaniel, Winston Churchill HS, TX
    Matthew Corley, North Lamar HS, TX
    Aly Tharp, Plano Sr. HS, TX
    Aakash Kumar, Plano Sr. HS, TX
    Bryan Campanelllo, Southlake Carroll HS, TX
    Joseph Hochman, Anderson HS, TX
    Rebekah Mata-Lasky, Winston Churchill HS, TX


JW Patterson
TOC Director and Founder

More information about the Mailman mailing list