[eDebate] TOC Qualifiers: Wake Forest and Marquette

Patterson, J W jwpatt00
Tue Sep 25 12:09:07 CDT 2007



MAY 3, 4, AND 5, 2008


 1. Schools that do not comply with deadlines will be assessed a nuisance fee of $50 and will not have the option of participating in judge preferences or strikes! The deadline for both fully qualified entries and "at-large" applications in both divisions is March 15, 2008. The deadline for the payment of all fees is April 1, 2008. "At-large" applicants will not be notified and fully qualified teams will not be entered into the tournament until all fees are paid.

 2.  The TOC Tournament Director has NO hired judges available.  SCHOOLS MUST SUPPLY THEIR OWN JUDGES.  If the person supplied is not a full time teacher of a school, the applicant may be required to submit  the qualifications of the designated judge to the Tournament Director. The TOC Director will refer people who wish to judge to those who desire to hire judges.  All such arrangements will be  between the designated school and the person wishing to be hired.

 3.  In both policy and LD, tournaments designated as a quarter-final or octa-final qualifier must have at least six preliminary rounds; otherwise, the bid drops to the semi-finals level.

 4.  If a school has not submitted judging philosophies for all of its judges by 7 days before the TOC, that school will not be offered a preference and strike sheet for the TOC and will be assessed a nuisance fee of $50.

 6.  A team or an LD debater must win at least one elimination round to be eligible for a "ghost bid."  For example, if a tournament breaks at the double-octos level and is a TOC qualifier at the octos level, if two people or teams from the same school meet in the octos round, a ghost bid would be awarded.  If a tournament breaks at the octos level and is a TOC qualifier at  the quarters level, and two people or teams from the same school meet in the quarters, a ghost bid would be awarded. On the other hand, if a tournament breaks to the octafinals and  people from the same school meet in the octos, a ghost bid would not be awarded.  In this case, since there was no double octos, the people meeting would not have won an out round and would not eligible for a ghost bid.

 7.  In policy debate, a team must have two qualifiers as a team to qualify for the TOC.  If a team does not have two quals AS A TEAM, then they may submit for an at-large bid. Debaters from the same school who have two or more bids but have not debated together may also submit for an "at-large" bid.

   8. Tournament Directors must submit complete result sheets no more than thirty days after the tournament is held.
    For tournaments held after March 1st, the results must be certified by March 10th. This includes the debaters full

   names, their schools, and state


Virginia Bannigan, Executive Debate Assistant at Wake Forest University has certified the 2008 TOC qualifiers for the Wake Forest Early Bird Tournament. The Early Bird is a qualifier at the quarterfinals level in Policy, Lincoln Douglas, and Public Forum Debate. In addition, it is a qualifier in Student Congress at the finals level.


    Mike Carlotti and Leo Hayes, Cathedral Prep, (PA)
    Ken Bailey and Austin Layton, Milton, (GA)
    Hilary Ledwell and Robert Shuffield, Little Rock Central, (AR)
    Ishita Chordia and Daniel Taylor, Westminster, (GA)
    Leo Chingcuanco and Tyler He, College Prep, (CA)
    Brian Shim and Elliot Stein, Berkeley Prep, (FL)
    Robert Awh and Andrew Snow, Montgomery Bell, (TN)
    Richie Choy and Weilan Zhang, Chattahoochee, (GA)


    Vineet Singal, Bronx Science, (NY)
    Frank Willett, Brophy College Prep, (AZ)
    Mohit Sahoo, East Chapel Hill, (NC)
    Corey Metzman, Montgomery Bell, (TN)
    Jon Yip, Collegiate, (NY)
    Alex Koren, Pennsylvania Leadership, (PA)
    Jeff Lockhart, Brophy College Prep, (AZ)
    Deepa Ramakrishnan, Harker DR, (CA)


    Angelica Chavez and Jesse Schwab, Myers Park, (NC)
    Meredith Potter and Caleb Frye, Pinecrest, (NC)
    Kori Furcolowe and Kathleen Beach, Rossview, (TN)
    Sumit Malik and Francis Deng, Thomas Jefferson High, (VA)
    Lindsay Young and Caitlin Dennis, McDowell, (PA)
    Jeanine Sinanan-Singh and Jonathan Friedman, Trinity Prep, (FL)
    Glen Dawson and Joey Heffner, North Mecklenburg, (NC)
    Taylor Williams and Mark Penner, Niceville, (FL)


    Nate Blevins, Gilmour Acad. (OH)
    Simon Wiener, Charlottesville HS (VA)
    Amit Rao, East Chapel Hill HS (NC)
    Alex Henderson, Charlotte Latin Sch. (NC)
    Zach Cobb, Asheville HS (NC)
    Lauren Rutledge, Lake Highland Prep (FL)
    Jake Hamilton, NC School of Science and Math (NC)
    CourtneyPeters, Head Royce Sch. (CA)
    Charlie Doyle, Lake Highland Prep (FL)
    Joseph Peretta, Christopher Columbus HS (FL)
    Maggie Morrissey, Asheville HS (NC)
    Shaina Sklar, Unionville HS (PA)
    Ellis Robinson, Asheville HS (NC)
    Hanna Bustillo, Pinecrest HS (NC)
    Joey Glickman, New Trier Township HS (IL)
    Michelle Lerman, New Trier Township HS (IL)
    Kate Woska, Lake Highland Prep (FL)
    Nick Smith, Lake Highland Prep (FL)


Bill Battermann, Director of Debate at Marquette University High School, has certified the 2008 TOC qualifiers for the Marquette University High School Invitational. Marquette is a qualifier to the TOC at the finals level in Policy debate.

    Georgi Dimitrov and Carl Rice, Bellarmine, (CA)
    David Han & Mara Koulogeorge, Glenbrook South, (IL)

JW Patterson
TOC Director and Founder

More information about the Mailman mailing list