[eDebate] Call for CEDA Award Nominations (#2)

Gordon Stables stables
Mon Feb 2 12:47:20 CST 2009

This is a busy time for all, but I would ask you to a moment and consider
those folks in our community worthy of special recognition. I am reposting
the awards call for CEDA from earlier this year and asking you to consider
nominating worthy candidates.

In an effort to make the nomination process easier for all we have clarified
the descriptions and the types of information needed for each nomination. We
are also accepting all nominations online at the CEDA website
www.cedadebate.org. There is a link at the top right of the front page to
submit awards.

Please note the due date for award nominations is February 20th. If you have
any questions or problems with the online nominations please let me know.


CEDA takes great pride is recognizing the outstanding contributions of its
students, coaches, and alums. We invite you to submit nominations, including
self-nominations, for any of the following awards. Nominations will be
accepted from August 2008 until February 20, 2009.

Awards for Debaters

The Brian "Baby Jo" Johnston Debater of the Year Award

Who is eligible?   This annual award is named in honor of 1994 CEDA National
Champion Brian Johnston is designed to recognize an outstanding debater in

What are the criteria? Debaters should demonstrate competitive success and a
commitment to represent the highest values of the debate community.

The Outstanding New Competitor Award

Who is eligible?  Debaters who began their participation in interscholastic
debate in college, are in their first year of competition and are
participating at the CEDA championship tournament.

What are the criteria?  Candidates should show evidence of growth and
participation in the activity. The student's participation during the year
may have been at any level of competition (e.g. varsity, junior varsity or
novice). No preference will be given for either regional or national travel

The All-American Debate Squad Award

Who is eligible?  Debaters at CEDA member programs. There will be at least
one recipient from each of the CEDA regions and at-large recipients (who may
come from any district) to total no more than thirty. At least two
recipients must be from community college programs. No more than two
students from a given school shall receive this award.

What are the criteria? Recipients should demonstrate their competitive
excellence, measured qualitatively or quantitatively; evidence of their
commitment to fair play in the activity; and evidence of their contribution
to the success and well-being of their forensics program.

Scholastic All-American Teams

Who is eligible? Debaters at CEDA member programs. Students are eligible for
each respective level of award based on their academic performance

First team Scholastic All-Americans must have (1) at least a 3.50 cumulative
GPA, (2) have attained at least sophomore standing, and (3) a winning record
in the open division (minimum of 18 rounds).

Second team Scholastic All-Americans must have (1) at least a 3.25
cumulative GPA, (2) have attained at least sophomore standing, and (3)
competed in at least 18 rounds in the open division.

Honorable Mention Scholastic All- Americans must have (1) at least a 3.00
cumulative GPA, (2) have attained at least sophomore standing, and (3)
competed in at least 18 rounds.

There will be no minimum or maximum number of students eligible for any of
these awards. Students nominated for these awards will be asked to submit
transcripts of their academic progress.

Awards for Coaches

The Brownlee Award

Who is eligible? The Brownlee Award is given annually to a forensic educator
who demonstrates outstanding achievement in scholarship, education and
service to CEDA.

What are the criteria? The best candidates demonstrate some element of all
three factors (scholarship, education and service to CEDA). Portfolio should
be submitted that include a nominating form (descriptions should be
included), letters of support (including those from colleagues and students)
and other relevant materials (publications, additional letters, etc.)

The Galentine Award

Who is eligible? This annual award is named in honor of Rebecca Galentine is
designed to recognize an outstanding female debate coach in CEDA.

What are the criteria? Coaches should demonstrate service to programs and
the organization, community building and competitive success as a coach.

The Matt Grindy Outstanding Graduate Student Coach

Who is eligible?  Current graduate students who are coaching debate at CEDA

What are the criteria? This award is intended to recognize both the
pedagogical and competitive contributions to the growth and development of
policy debate by graduate student coaches, who are balancing their
obligations to their school work and that of their programs. The recipient
needs to demonstrate excellence in graduate and professional obligations as
well as their work as coaches. Preference will be given to candidates who
are present at the CEDA national championship tournament.

Program Awards

The National Public Debate Award

Who is eligible?  This award is given to the intercollegiate debate

What are the criteria? Programs should demonstrate how, over the course of
the past academic year, they have best advanced the values of debate in the
public sphere through sponsorship of one or more public debate activities
including international public debates, radio or television debates, public
debates on campus or for community groups, and through general promotion of
public discourse through diverse for a to promote critical examination of
public issues for general audiences. Portfolios should be provided that
explain the significance of these programs.

Awards for Alumni and Community Members

The CEDA Alumni Award

Who is eligible?  This award recognizes outstanding achievement,
contribution and service by a program alumna of a member school.

What are the criteria? The best candidates are those who are not active
coaches, but those alumni who embody the best values of debate through their
own debate, philanthropy, leadership.  These candidates, trained in debate,
should now provide valuable service to our larger communities.  The
recipient need not necessarily need be present at national championship
tournament to win the award.

The Speaker of the Year

Who is eligible? Prominent individuals outside the immediate college debate

What are the criteria? The award acknowledges the contribution of an
individual during the past year that made a positive contribution to public
discourse on matters of social import. The award recipient is a public
personality involved in local, regional, national or international affairs.

Gordon Stables, Ph.D.
Director of Debate & Forensics
Annenberg School for Communication
University of Southern California
Office: 213 740 2759
Fax: 213 740 3913
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://www.ndtceda.com/pipermail/edebate/attachments/20090202/3b177ed9/attachment.htm 

More information about the Mailman mailing list