[eDebate] Calling for Nominations for 2009 Julia Burke Award for ADA Debate

bratt at capitol-debate.com bratt
Wed Feb 25 14:23:22 CST 2009

The Julia Burke Foundation is accepting nominations for the 2009
Julia Burke Ward for Excellence and Character in ADA Debate. 

Nominations can be filled out online at 


- click on ADA nominations on the bottom right of the screen.

Deadline for submitting nominations will be Monday, March 2, 2009. 

Award will be given out at the American Debate Association Nationals at
Appalachian State University on March 15, 2009.

Past recipients of the award are Mary Mosley 2008, Matt Scorio 2007,
Shawntia Diggs 2006,
Carly Woods 2005, Andrew Barnes 2004, and Liz Wiley 2003. 

The American Debate Association in conjunction with The Julia Burke
Foundation had established "The Julia Burke Award" to recognize the 
American Debate Association college policy debater who most closely
upholds the combination of characteristics that Julia Burke displayed 
in her love for the activity. These qualities include excellence in and
passion for debate, a commitment to helping others, love and respect for
the American Debate Association policy debate community and dedication
to maintaining friendships despite the pressures of competition. This 
award is presented annually at the American Debate Association National
Championship Award Ceremony. The award includes an individual trophy, 
a $1,000 donation to the charity chosen by the award recipient, and a
award directly to the recipient.

Please feel free to email me at bratt at capitol-debate.com if you have any
and also let me know if you nominate someone so that I ensure it went

Please take the time to honor one of your debaters for their

Thank you, 

Ron Bratt

More information about the Mailman mailing list