Washington D.C – (January 10, 2022) California State University Fullerton and Georgetown University hosted their annual co-sponsored policy debate tournament over winter break on January 1-6. The tournament provided an opportunity for eighty competitors from fourteen different states the opportunity to compete. The online competition took place using Classrooms.Cloud and Zoom.

The tournament featured six preliminary rounds of competition, where students argued on both sides, on the topic “Resolved: The United States Federal Government should substantially increase prohibitions on anticompetitive
business practices by the private sector by at least expanding the scope of its core antitrust laws”. Followed by a single elimination tournament where the top twenty teams advanced based on the results from the preliminary rounds.

The Elimination bracket featured teams from Dartmouth College, Emory University, Georgetown University, Harvard University, Michigan State University, Northeastern University, Northwestern University, the University of California Berkeley, the University of Kentucky, the University of Massachusetts – Amherst, the University of Michigan, the University of Minnesota, the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Southern California, Trinity
University, and Wake Forest University.

The first Semifinals debate saw top seeded Akash Deo & Nina Fridman from Northwestern defeat fourth seeded Julian Kuffour & Kevin Sun from the University of California on a 3-0 decision. The other Semifinals debate saw
second seeded Jordan Di & David Griffith from Kentucky defeat third Holland Bald & Gabriel Chang-Deutsch from Dartmouth on a split decision. The Final Round saw a 3-0 victory for Akash Deo & Nina Fridman from Northwestern over Kentucky. This marks the third tournament championship for the duo, and their fourth finals appearance.

In addition to being named tournament Champion of the 2022 Fullertown tournament, Nina Fridman was also named the Top Speaker of the tournament, beating out Second Speaker Ethan Muse from Michigan, Third Speaker Jeremy Margolin from Michigan, Fourth Speaker David Griffith from Kentucky and Fifth Speaker Gabriel Chang-Deutsch from Dartmouth.

Congratulations to all the participants of the 2022 Fullertown tournament as it kicks off the first tournament of the Spring competitive season. The tournament provided a total of nine thousand minutes of speaking time for undergraduate students. Students engaged in a minimum of three debates in favor of the resolution and three opposed, requiring them to test their hours of research and preparation on both sides of the topic. The format enables students to build skills in critical thinking, communication, collaboration, and creativity.

About CEDA

Cross Examination Debate Association was founded in 1971. CEDA is currently responsible for formulating the annual intercollegiate policy debate topic used in tournament competition throughout the nation. Throughout
the season, CEDA calculates National Sweepstakes Standings, the national and regional rankings of member institutions based on compiled tournament results.