Hanover, NH – (January 26th, 2022) The Dartmouth Forensics Union hosted their annual Round Robin of the top debate teams in the country on the weekend of January 22-23. This year’s tournament featured seven of the top two person teams in the country debating the topic “Resolved: The United States Federal Government should substantially increase prohibitions on anticompetitive business practices by the private sector by at least expanding the scope of its core antitrust laws”.


The tournament featured Tyler Vergho & Arvind Shankar from Dartmouth College, Eugenia Giampetruzzi & Grace Kessler from Emory University, Noah Graham & Ky Buckner from George Mason University, Aden Barton & Julian Habermann from Harvard University, Akash Deo & Nina Fridman from Northwestern University, Giorgio Rabbini & Rafael Pierry from the University of Michigan, and Julian Kuffour & Kevin Sun from the University of Southern California.


Students engaged in a minimum of three debates in favor of the resolution and three opposed. The format required them to test their hours of research and preparation on both sides of the topic enabling undergraduate students to build skills in critical thinking, communication, collaboration, and creativity.


At the conclusion of seven rounds of competition the team of Eugenia Giampetruzzi & Grace Kessler from Emory went undefeated and was recognized as the champions of the round robin. Akash Deo & Nina Fridman from Northwestern University were the runners up followed by Giorgio Rabbini & Rafael Pierry from the University of Michigan. In addition to being runner up Nina Fridman from Northwestern was recognized as the tournament’s Top Speaker.

About CEDA

Cross Examination Debate Association was founded in 1971. CEDA is currently responsible for formulating the annual intercollegiate policy debate topic used in tournament competition throughout the nation. Throughout the season, CEDA calculates National Sweepstakes Standings, the national and regional rankings of member institutions based on compiled tournament results.